This month’s Strava challenge: 1500m in elevation

Strava’s monthly challenges often give me that shove I need to go a little further, a little faster, a little longer, a little higher…

One of Strava’s challenges this month is to get 1500m in elevation over the month. I love these elevation challenges. While I don’t live in a super hilly area, I also don’t live in a flat neighbourhood. I often rue the fact that I don’t have a flat place to run and that since I live on a hill, my last km is always uphill.

When Strava has an elevation challenge, I end up seeking out instead of avoiding all those hills with 40m of elevation. I find myself doing my best to pack as much elevation into a 5 or 10k as is possible and taking advantage of every little up and down.

 

All my hill training pays off in races when, without any extra effort on my part, I find myself passing people on hills.

It’s amazing what a Strava Climbing Challenge “digital finishers badge” in my virtual Trophy Case will make me do…

Need some motivation? Check out Strava.com to track your runs, train and challenge yourself.

Jackie

Jackie

 

Update:  With a little help from my week in Vermont (I will do my best not to complain about my “hilly” neighbourhood anymore…) I completed the challenge and then some. Happy running.

2 thoughts on “This month’s Strava challenge: 1500m in elevation

  1. That picture doesn’t do the hill justice…

Leave a Reply

