Finding motivation wherever I can…

This morning was the kind of morning where I actually sat on my closet floor to get dressed.

I paused for a moment trying to decide whether to get dressed for the day or put on my running gear and sneak in a run on a rather damp day. Then, from my spot on the floor, I noticed a brightly colored pair of Lululemon running tights on the shelf that I bought in the summer and hadn’t worn yet. The happy thought that ran through my mind was how embarrassed my 16 year old son would be to know I was running around the neighbourhood in those tights… and my decision was made. 🙂

pants1

While I was at it, I pulled out a pair of zero drop Altra running shoes that I got last month and went for a short 5k to try them out.

zerodropaltras

We have a store in town that sells gear for outdoor activities like hiking, canoeing, skateboarding etc. Twice a year they have a clearance sale where they sell last season’s shoes for $45. I enjoy the sale, because the store sells shoes that I don’t see as much in the running and sports stores I usually shop at. Their sales give me a chance to get try out different brands and models of shoes that are regularly around $150 or more for not too big an investment. This time I tried a pair of Altras that feature a “zero drop”, a foot-shaped toe box and a gender specific fit.

While it is early to say whether I will switch to these shoes from my Mizunos, they felt comfortable and I felt good after the 5k. I could definitely feel the difference from my regular running shoe, so I’ll continue to work them in between runs in my regular shoes and see what I think.

So, I set out after my teenagers headed off to school (and after the 16 year old told me I looked ridiculous). I passed a lot of parents and grandparents walking their little ones to school. I enjoyed being the bright flash of colour running through the neighbourhood on this rather blah morning. As I said good morning to those I passed, the smiles were a little bigger than usual – I choose to believe I brightened their day. 😉
Jackie

Jackie

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Finding motivation wherever I can…

  1. Heh you don’t look rediculous, you look fab 🙂

  2. This will probably be me tomorrow morning, except I have no obnoxiously awesome tights 😦

  3. We can never please the teens, you look wonderful 🙂

  4. No you don’t look ridiculous, you look STRONG! Don’t you just love teenagers. People used to tell me my teenagers were lovely, well behaved… Ya right, you can’t be talking about MY kids!

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog! I love this post! I’ll have to remember this when I don’t feel it on a blah day… a good reason to invest in some awesomely fun running tights.

  6. Thanks for checking out RetroGlam. I like your spirit in this posting. That’s what keeps a person young at heart.

Leave a comment