Fitting in Strength Training

The last few weeks, I’ve been trying to find a strength workout to add to my workout schedule.  In the past, I’ve used lots of different online workouts, books, dvds, and apps.  I tried some of them out again, but nothing was really exciting me.  I used the Nike Training Club app for a few workouts, and while I like it, I was finding some of the moves over my ability right now.   

After scouring the internet for the perfect workout for me, I decided to just piece together some moves that I really like into my own routine.  I usually try to fit in a workout while my baby girl naps in the morning.  She usually sleeps for about an hour and half, so I wanted something quick that I could fit in, shower, get ready for the day, and still have a bit of time for some chores.  

For this workout, I just need some weights, an exercise ball, and my basement stairs.  🙂   This is what I came up with:

wpid-wp-1434129251961.jpg

I’ve been doing just one round.  It’s enough to work up a sweat and feel like I put in a good effort.  On the weekend, when I have some more time, I’m going to fit in two rounds.

What is your favourite strength training workout?
 

Mandy   DSC_0815_3 2

 

5 thoughts on “Fitting in Strength Training

  1. Nice job finding a way to get in the strength training! Definitely an important fitness component. I’ve found if I don’t go on my lunch break at work, I don’t do it. I tried to find a plan that fit my needs as well but it’s hard to find something that does what you need it to. I saw an article that said a good plan for runners is to pick 2 moves each for upper body, lower body and core 2-4 times a week so that’s what I’ve been doing. For me this takes about 20-30 minutes which works out great for a lunch break routine. 🙂

  2. Strength training? I climb hills out of the saddle. 😉

  3. This is awesome! What a great workout. I don’t have kids, but I’m totally trying your workout!! Great job on finding a way to fit it in!!!

Leave a Reply

