What I Saw Running, Dipsea Challenge Update and The Grackle is why I haven’t posted….

First of all, this charming little fellow is the reason I haven’t had time to blog about running this week:

grackle1

Last weekend I was doing some gardening a couple days after a big wind storm and I found this little guy on the ground. The nest was nowhere to be found, his little siblings were already dead, and after observation I found that his mom wasn’t looking after him. The kids and I couldn’t leave him behind, so we took him home and have been feeding him hourly all week. Our next task is trying to figure out how to teach him to fend for himself so he can survive. (any suggestions?)

So between the hourly feedings, I managed to get some running in, at the cottage and at home. I’ve been taking pictures more often as I run because I find it helps me to not get so caught up in my performance and to enjoy my running more. So, here is my week and a half in running – and some things I wouldn’t have seen if I hadn’t been out running!

bayfieldbeach2

A beautiful morning to be out running in Bayfield.

I had a beautiful run in Bayfield, I ran past The Black Dog Pub (man wish I could have gone in for a burger)

blackdog

and saw the smallest library ever :).

littlelibrary

I also tried out some new shoes. They felt comfortable, but after my run, my foot looked like this:

notagoodsignI showed my husband and he said “you probably already took a picture of it, right?” Hmph. It turned out that it looked worse than it was. For a few days the blister on my middle toe kept making a dramatic blood stain on my shoe, but after a few days in a row of no running (feeding a baby bird) it healed up.

I’ve been doing the Dipsea Challenge on Strava for the last couple of weeks, trying to do 6600 feet of elevation while running over a 3 week period. I have one week left and I am at just over 4000 feet. I wasn’t sure I could complete it, but I think I may just get it done! The good news is, whether or not I complete the challenge, I’ve already noticed that I’m getting much faster at my hill segments. So it was worth the effort.

Some new Lululemon tights always brighten up the week as well!

newtights

 

I hope you had a good week running!

(I have to go for a run – raising a grackle is stressing me out – I’m having dreams of giant gaping baby bird beaks…)

Jackie

Jackie

 

10 thoughts on “What I Saw Running, Dipsea Challenge Update and The Grackle is why I haven’t posted….

  1. Your photos are beautiful. I hope the little grackle is ok. We have volunteer wildlife rescue organisations in Australia, there could be something like that near you too maybe.

    • Thanks! And he is doing quite well. I tried a couple places initially and they weren’t accepting any “new patients” :), but I’m going to try some more places – I’m sure I can at least get some advice on how to wean him etc. What a project we got ourselves into!

  2. Awww that little grackle!! How sweet of you to take care of it. Great pictures, you live in a beautiful area!

  3. That is one ugly bird.

  4. Adorable baby bird. But the question is… Who’s gonna teach him to fly?

Leave a Reply

