Where I wish I ran – my vacation in beautiful British Columbia.

I had considerable plans for running in Vancouver, BC while we were out visiting and going to our niece’s wedding. I planned to run around the neighborhood in Port Moody where we were staying since it had beautiful trails down to the water and some great hills – I love reviewing my runs on Strava when I’ve gotten some good elevation.

The main thing I was looking forward to this trip, besides of course the fantastic wedding of my lovely niece, was climbing Grouse Grind. Grouse Grind is a difficult trail 2.9kms in length with about 853m (apprxox. 2800 feet) of elevation gain going up Grouse Mountain. On average it takes about 1.5 to 2 hours to climb. Sounded like an impressive challenge.

Well, the day before we flew out, I came down with the wicked cold that my family had. I guess I couldn’t avoid it forever. So, I spent the week uncontrollably coughing on my in-laws (again – so sorry) and taking cold pills instead of running amidst the blooming trees and bushes of the neighborhood in which we stayed.

outthewindow2

On the last day we were there I did take a gondola ride to the top of the mountain. It was fantastic. The view was incredible.

grousepanarama

Needless to say, actually climbing “the Grind” is at the top of my list for the next time we visit BC. It was a nice change to see green trees and flowers blooming instead of the barren early spring we are still in here in Ontario.

instagrammountain1 instagrammountain2 instagrammountain3

We got back early this morning, and after unpacking and doing many loads of laundry, I managed a slow 5k with lots of wheezing and coughing. I ran 4 of the 5 kms at well over a 6 minute per km pace, but at my 3rd km, I ran through a construction zone. A dumptruck pulled out in front of me, and when he noticed me running behind him, he pulled over so that I wouldn’t have to run in the dust he was kicking up. Unfortunately having a huge dumptruck behind me makes me a little self conscious  and I ran that km at 4:42/km.

Today’s run on Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/286708422/embed/6747030f1e142f2f95320da114e344289621fdaa

I’ve found that I always run faster when I pass construction workers and other runners….

So, do any of you out there have a weird habit like that? And where do you want to run on vacation?

 

Jackie

Jackie

 

11 thoughts on “Where I wish I ran – my vacation in beautiful British Columbia.

  1. Mmm… I like to ride in the mountains of North Carolina and Georgia. Feel better fast, eh?

    • Thanks – I hope it goes away soon – I have a half coming up in 2 weeks. Eek. And the mountains of North Carolina and Georgia would be beautiful. I can almost feel the fresh mountain air…

  2. Not sure about habits, though I’m sure Inhabe more than a few odd ones when I run.

    As for where I would love to run, Paris France, their marathon, is at the top of my list.

  3. Funny about your dump truck speedwork! I’d like to run in so many great places, but I’ll just name one for now – Moab, Utah!

  4. That’s what I decided to call it, speedwork. 🙂 And I just Googled Moab, Utah. Looks beautiful!

  5. Sorry to hear that you were under the weather while you were in BC. I have done Grouse twice and want to go back. I compete with myself to get to the top and see how quickly I can do it.
    I run faster when I see other runners in front of me…especially when I am headed to the finish because I want to try and pass that one last person before I cross.

  6. Thanks for this post! I’ll be in Vancouver in September and look forward to doing this!

  7. […] since my trip to British Columbia when I didn’t get to climb Grouse Grind, I’ve been dreaming of mountain […]

Leave a Reply

