Around the Bay 30k race recap

Great shirt this year.

Here’s a quick recap of my Around the Bay 30k. This was my 3rd year in a row doing this race, and I highly recommend it – one of my favorites.

We had a beautiful day again this year. Blue skies, sun and a cool but pleasant temperature. The wind picked up throughout the race, but it didn’t bother me until the last 4k when we seemed to be running right into it.

Gawking at my friends and losing my pace bunny...

Me in blue – gawking at my friends and losing my pace bunny…

It was an interesting race for me. I hadn’t trained enough because of the cold winter, I only got up to 23k in training, and I’ve been running slower than I have in years. I had a goal of 3 hours when I signed up and I had adjusted it to 3:10 for the race. I had planned to run with the 3 hour bunny as long as I could and then just do my best after I couldn’t keep up.

Well, right off the bat I lost the 3 hour bunny. I was busy gawking at the side looking for my husband and friends as I started, and I realized a few minutes in that I couldn’t find the bunny (that had been just beside me at the start) anywhere. My Garmin had also shut off just before the start and it took me a couple of minutes to get it going so I had no idea exactly where I was timewise. I spent the first few kms trying to catch up to the pace bunny in front, only to find out that it was the 2:55 pace bunny.

Anyway, long story short, I decided to just do whatever felt good. And I think the fact that I was staying ahead of my pace bunny and not letting him catch me, instead of feeling like I was struggling to keep up to him, made me feel more confident and like I could really get a good time. When I passed the 10k I was just under 59 minutes. For the next 10k I took advantage of the flatness and hit 20k at around 1:57.

It was at 20k that some crazy spectator was yelling out “You’re almost there”. I turned to a lady in pink beside me and we joked about it (that’s not even close to almost there – but smiling does make you feel better when you’re running). I was feeling good about being in the last 3rd of the race until I hit 23k and I hit my wall – hard. At first I got a little down, but then I decided on mind over matter. I told myself that it was just my wall and I’d get past it. I allowed myself an extra walking break and took some more fuel and then told myself, “it’s a race – it’s supposed to hurt”, and got on my way. I was really tired for the last 5k and had to talk my way through it. At 28k, I stopped for a Gatorade at the last water station and I was feeling completely out of gas, then I noticed my pink lady from 20k run by and I decided she was going to help me in. I caught up to her and she said “I met you at 20k right? NOW we are almost there!” That was what I needed and I just stayed with her til the end of the race.

Chip time: 2:57:57. A personal best – and a new sense of what I can accomplish.

I had read this article before my race and used the tips in it throughout the race – I think it helped. 🙂

Mile Posts: 5 Tips To Help Running Feel Easier Read more at http://womensrunning.competitor.com/2015/03/mile-posts/mile-posts-5-tips-to-help-running-feel-easier_36634#x8BuDt4YAkkkKRdg.99

Jackie

Jackie

https://www.strava.com/activities/276070714/embed/cf52d292b311bb28701adad71e37cecfdca9e35b” target=”_blank”>My run on Strava

14 thoughts on “Around the Bay 30k race recap

  1. Congratulations Jackie! What a great race ! You fought through the winds and your wall and found out just how tough (& how fast!) you are 😃

    Really really well done!

  2. Congratulations, great PB. 🙂

  3. Fantastic!!!! Congrats on your PR!!!
    I just love when people tell you you’re almost there when you are in no way almost there haha.

    • Thanks Salt. And spectators say the craziest things! I also got a “Are you okay Ma’am?” You’re supposed to lie to me and tell me I look great, not ask me if I’m okay. 😀

  4. Congrats on the PB! It’s great that you beat your goal time!

  5. Congrats Jackie! It must have been such a great feeling to see your chip time. 🙂 We are proud of you! I had to look up what a pace bunny was, I was like, is that a metaphor? Hehe!

  6. Way to go! I haaate it when they say ‘you’re almost there’. My friends make a sign that says ‘you’re not almost there’ for when they spectate. At least they’re honest!

  7. Awesome post Jackie! Congrats on a great race 🙂

  8. Isn’t it funny how you can surprise yourself? I’ve had some of my best races when I wasn’t expecting to. I think maybe because the pressure is off. Congrats, Jackie! Very cool.

  9. Great race recap Jackie. I remember vividly that one sign someone was holding shortly into the race that read “29.5k’s to go”. I was thinking “yeah right, such encouragement this is!” 🙂 We must have been pretty close together at the beginning, as the 2:55 bunny was nearby for the 1st 2 or 3 k’s.
    The big thing is you did it, and such an accomplishment with your personal best. This is an excellent chip time. Congratulations! 🙂
    You are an excellent writer Jackie. I can picture everything in my mind as you described it.
    Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ~Carl~

Leave a Reply

