Delicious home made heritage bread that ANYONE can make.

I have always wanted to make my own bread. Over the years I’ve tried many times to bake bread with less than stellar results. I came across a couple of recipes lately for heritage bread that you let rise for anywhere from 12 – 18 hours and I decided to give it a try. Well, I’ve baked several loaves now and they are wonderful. I haven’t screwed it up yet. 🙂 Since I’ve caught a bad cold/flu and can’t run, baking some comfort food is filling the void.

artisanbread1

I have adjusted the recipes I’ve found a bit to get the size of loaf I like, but I got the original idea from Chef Michael Smith’s Heritage bread. He uses oatmeal and some multigrain flour and it worked out nicely.  We eat slice after slice of this warm out of the oven and then make sandwiches and toast with it. My next experiment is going to be with rye bread.

Recipe:

heaping 1/2 tsp of yeast
2 1/2 tsp salt
2 2/3 C water
6 cups of Flour

Mix together with a bread dough hook in a mixer or mix by hand until formed into a ball. No kneading required. Place in a large mixing bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Leave on the counter to rise for 18 hours. The dough should at least double in size and will look a bit bubbly.

On a lightly floured surface punch the dough down and fold it over on itself until a nice ball is formed. Lightly flour the mixing bowl and place the dough back into the bowl and cover it with the plastic wrap. Allow to rise for about 2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and place a lightly greased cast iron pot in the oven to preheat for 20 minutes. When the pot is ready, gently dump the dough into the cast iron pot, cover and bake for 40 minutes. Remove the lid and bake for another 5 – 10 minutes until the bread is nicely browned to your liking.

castironpotartisanbread2

The cast iron pot gives the bread a nice crust, but you can use a loaf pan or baking sheet if you don’t have the cast iron pot.

Delicious – perfect for carb-loading. 😉 Now go for a run!

 

Jackie

– Jackie –

 

2 thoughts on “Delicious home made heritage bread that ANYONE can make.

  1. YUM YUM YUM!!! (Did I say yum?) 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

