Around the Bay 30k – race recap – Everything is better with friends.

I made it! This post is a week late in coming, but you’ll have to forgive me – I managed to make it through my 30k Around the Bay Race – and I was tired.

20140330-DSC_804220140330-DSC_8043 (2)

Pre-race silliness                                                      On our way to the start line

 I was a bit of a nervous wreck before the race. Going from recovering from a calf injury to running a 30k in less than 2 months had me pretty worried,  but being there with a couple of great friends and our husbands made the pre-race jitters bearable and the after-party fantastic. Mandy also reminded me to relax, slow down if I needed to and to just have fun.

nothavingagoodweek

How my week before the race was going…long story…

We had a beautiful sunny day, no snow or rain, not too much wind and about 5C.  I broke this race down mentally into three 10ks. I didn’t feel great for the first 10k, I felt pretty good for the next 5k,  but then it started to go downhill. I made it to 20k feeling a bit tired when the rolling hills started. Hills don’t bother me too much, but the PowerBar Blasts that I was using as fuel did. For some reason I thought that I had tested these on a training run at some point, but my sensitive stomach didn’t take well to them. Around the 21k mark I developed a wicked gut cramp. I panicked at first, but I managed to get a grip, I popped my emergency Tylenol and a bunch of water and decided to walk until the pain passed. About 1km later I was feeling somewhat better and was able to run again. I finished the rolling hills and the last big downhill and got to the last big uphill at around 26k. I was surprised how happy I was to get to that point. Even though there was a killer hill with about 40m of elevation to cover in about 400m, after that, it was just over 3k to go all on a gradual downhill. 

I have to say that despite everything, I really had a great time. I suffered during  certain parts of the race, but I enjoyed more of it. It was a beautiful day, a pretty scenic route with lots of crowd support. I made sure to look around and enjoy the views at the peaks of the hills and going over the bridges.

approachingthebridge waterunderthebridge

Nearing the bridge across the bay                                         Waves just before the bridge

nearingthebighill

Nearing the final killer hill – a picture of the actual hill would have been better

 

I was pretty sure I was going to want to kick the Grim Reaper when I reached the 27k point in the race, but I ended up being happy enough to want to hug him. In reality I didn’t have enough energy to even high five him like many runners do – I was only able to take a terrible picture and grimace on.

20140330-thegrimreaper_edited-1theendisnear

 

I pushed on for last few kilometers. One of the fun things about this race is finishing the race in Copps Coliseum. I had been counting down the meters to the finish line, but once I turned the corner into Copps I was so glad to be almost done that I managed a big smile and a little burst of speed at the end. A happy race volunteer at the end put up her hands and said “whoa, you can stop now, you’re done, you’re done”. I put the brakes on and she congratulated me.

20140330-DSC_8194 (2)

“Whoa, you’re done, you’re done”

Race over – I felt great. Even though I didn’t get the training in, I was hoping to finish in 3 hours. I ended up finishing with a time of 3:06. Good enough. (That’s my motto) Both of my friends came in ahead of me getting 2:52 and 2:57 – both better than they expected to do!

We went to a restaurant in Hamilton where I deviated from my usual post race burger and had a Philly cheesesteak sandwich with some deep fried pickles. After we crossed the street to a bakery called Bitten. Of course, being it was a Sunday afternoon they were almost sold out of everything, but they were sweet enough to give us a Whoopie Pie on the house after they found out we had run the race that day.

It was awesome!

I ate it in the truck on the way home. The icing on the cake of a perfect day that could have been way worse!

 

 

21 thoughts on “Around the Bay 30k – race recap – Everything is better with friends.

  1. Mmm, that dessert sounds SO good!!! Yummy, I’m glad you enjoyed it and GREAT RACE!!! Very good job!! 🙂

  2. Congratulations on a race well run 🙂 Injury, 2 mths training and a terrible winter for running– I’d say your race was a HUGE success .

  3. Congratulations Jackie! I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed the day. I’m proud of you!

  4. Yay! Well done!

  5. Very well done! That is a really good time considering you had such a bad case of stomach cramp. 3:06 is just awesome. Great race report, loved it 🙂

  6. Post race food is the BEST food EVER!

  7. Congratulations on finishing your race! You did it 😄

  8. I so agree with your post title – and congrats on a successful race!

  9. Congrats! Looks like a beautiful course. BTW, you should never high five the grim reaper. That can never be a good omen. Ha!

  10. Congratulations on a great race Jackie! 3:06 is an amazing time, be proud! I wish I could have been there but there is always next year 🙂

  11. Congrats on nailing your race!

Leave a Reply

