Race week and Knee pain – eek!

ouch

Yesterday I decided to get out for a quick 5k. The week before race day always messes with my head. I don’t want to overdo it, but I feel like I should do something… I inevitably end up doing the wrong thing.

After being away all weekend, eating poorly and not running, I figured I had to do something, and by the time I got out I only had time for a 5k. Of course I throw all reason out the window and disregard the fact that I am still recovering from an injury and that I should be careful because I’ve upped my mileage from 8k to 24k in only a few weeks. So I sped through my 5k and pushed myself to the limit. I ran a 5k in only under a minute slower than my fastest time – not smart when you are recovering – I know.

I paid for it last night. I had periodic shooting stabbing pains in my knee all night. I’m going to take it easy running-wise until race day and I’m going to get a massage later today because I’m sure it’s all my overworked muscles pulling on my poor knee. I keep forgetting – I’m older than I think I am. Sigh.

I did a quick search and found a neat video on massage for knee therapy that looks informative.

 

Any advice on knee pain for someone who chronically makes poor decisions while training?

I know some of you have races this weekend – some bigger than my 30k. Have a great race weekend!

 

Jackie

– Jackie –

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Race week and Knee pain – eek!

  1. Man, I’d love some advice, too!! I’m sorry to hear about your knee!! Mine did the same exact thing before my half marathon a week ago and I was frustrated! It’s still hurting and I’ve been icing it like 4 times a day! I’m almost thinking it’s from overstretching during some of my long yoga sessions. My fault completely, though! I hope you find some answers!!! Xoxo!!!

  2. Oh man I feel your pain! I have a history of “runners knee”. For me, the best way to manage is keeping good running shoes on hand (I go through mine fast!), and tons of hip/glute strengthening and stretching. My hip flexors, IT band and hams are tight-tight-tight and my glutes are fairly weak, which causes my knee pain. So tons of lunges, squats, deadlifts and stretching – I do foam rolling and usually spend at least 10 minutes stretching my legs to keep them loose. Best of luck with your recovery and race!

  3. I thought at first you were going to say it was you in the video, I was going to say ‘nice ink’. Haha!
    But dang, hope you get it worked out!

  4. Hope it gets better for the big day! I had knee pain and went to see the osteo – I had misaligned patellas and was given stretches to switch on some lazy muscles around my knees. She also strapped it up which helped a lot. It wasn’t a short term fix but they are fixed now 🙂

  5. A very informative video. Incredible how much there is in the knee and connecting muscles.
    Thank you for sharing!
    ~Carl~

Leave a Reply

