21k and some Wild Turkeys

That was wild turkeys, not Wild Turkey. 😉

21kundermybelt

I managed to talk myself, kilometer by kilometer through my 21k today. Again by the time I was done I couldn’t run another step, but I’m that much closer to 30k. Starting to feel a little less like I won’t make it. Although, when I reached 15k today I got a little mopey when I realized that was only halfway through the race distance.

It was an absolutely gorgeous day here. A day that makes me think that summer actually might come after all. It was about 3C while I was running and so sunny that I got a tan. (forgot my sunscreen) Around 5k into my run, I saw a few wild turkeys in a green space by my house – that’s a little rare. Look really hard, they’re there.

wildturkeys

I also took a picture of how I looked when I finished today – I felt horrible. I’m not showing you the picture.  I want to do one more long run, a 25k, before the Around the Bay 30k.  I had planned to do it this coming Saturday, but Mandy has pointed out to me that I have run a lot over the last few days and I need some recovery time. So I am taking her advice and I will attempt my 25k on Tuesday. I am also going to try and fit in a little cross-training on Piratebobcat’s advice. I often forget about how important that is.

One of the things that keep me going through a long run is thinking about the delicious burger I’m going to have when I’m done. What’s your favorite post run treat?

Jackie

– Jackie-

18 thoughts on “21k and some Wild Turkeys

  1. Great job on your run and on getting a tan!! 😉 😉

  2. Marianne Rowland

    It was a beautiful day. I actually got out for my first 8km run this year! It felt amazing:). Best of luck in the around the bay- that race is on my bucket list of races.

    To answer the post run question! Guilt free gummy bear binge:). I was ecstatic when I found out some people chew candy for part of there fuel. Guess that was when I figured I could really run a half:).

    • Glad you got out today too! And I hope you do the Around the Bay some day. It’s a cool run, challenging but it sure is neat finishing in Copps. BTW I love using gummy bears as part of my fuel. 🙂

  3. Nice job on your run; love the picture of the turkeys!

  4. Beautiful day for your run

  5. In the same with cross training: much as it’s a drag, it really helps!

  6. Delicious burger – good choice! It may have been a tough one, but you managed to get it done and that’s what counts! Good luck at your race – I bet you’ll do awesome!

  7. Yay, glad my advice can help encourage you!!! You’re doing great with your training, despite how you felt. And that’s crazy, I haven’t seen wild turkeys since I lived in Ohio.

  8. You are doing a great job, keep going, you’ll ace that 30km run!

  9. Awesome Pic! I love both the wild turkeys and the wild turkey! Favorite post run treat is a chocolate chip bagel with peanut butter!!

Leave a Reply

