18K – My First Real Long Run Since My Injury… and only 3 weeks til my 30k

After my botched 20k yesterday that quickly turned into a 7k, I hoped to get the full 20k in today. The temperature was perfect for running, a gray but warmer -2. I was able to run comfortably in regular running tights, compression socks and 2 long sleeved running shirts. It’s nice to be able to run without several more layers of constrictive running clothing for warmth.

18kfinally

Since I hurt my leg in December I haven’t done much running at all. My longest run lately was 11k, so I was hoping to do 20k in about 2hrs. Well, I ran until 18k  (144m of elevation) and I was so exhausted that the run ended there, but I managed to do it in 1:47 which made me happy. The 30k Around the Bay Road Race that I signed up for before I hurt myself is only 3 weeks away.  I’m hoping to do a 21k this Tuesday and maybe a 25k the following weekend. Hopefully I’ll be prepared enough that I can finish the race.

Anyway, an 18k, even though it is 2k short of 20k, still deserves a treat. I made this awesome Apple Fritter cake, and ate several pieces of it. It is delicious – I’ll be making this again and again. (BTW if you make it, I doubled the apples and only cooked it for about 30 minutes based on other peoples comments and it turned out perfectly)

applefrittercake

I’ll be a little anxious over the next 3 weeks worrying about the race. If you have any suggestions of what I can do over the next 3 weeks to be a little more prepared, I’d love the advice!

Happy running!

Jackie

– Jackie –

10 thoughts on “18K – My First Real Long Run Since My Injury… and only 3 weeks til my 30k

  1. Great job on you run and wow, the apple fritter cake you made looks so good. Wow, I want one! 😉

  2. Definitely deserving of a treat – congrats on a great re-building run!

  3. Way to go! I would just advise that you cross train as much as you can in addition to the running. BTW, I don’t eat many sweet things, but I looooove apple deserts!

  4. Well done on the 18k and so glad the weather obliged – you certainly deserved the treat, most delicious looking! No suggestions sorry, but all of my best wishes for the next three weeks 🙂

  5. Jackie, it sounds like you’re doing all the right things!! Be sure you get in the proper recovery before the race … it can be so easy to think “I only have 3 weeks to cram in as much training as possible to be sure I’m ready!” but instead you have to trust yourself and know you need the rest more than you need the training! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

