Boot camp kicked my butt

areyouinsane

I hate going into a class feeling just a little bit like an athlete because I ran 11k a couple days before and coming out feeling incredibly out of shape.

It was rainy, icy and windy yesterday and I knew I wouldn’t be able to get a good/safe run in outside, so I took my friend up on an offer to go to an indoor track for (what I thought was going to be) running some stairs and a track and doing some boot camp exercises. I also dragged my unsuspecting sister-in-law Melissa with me. It ended up being an actual boot camp class and a pretty tough one at that.

We did an entire body workout with some challenging exercises. Some leg and butt exercises, a lot of push up related stuff and far too many moves that involved the plank position. Although I was pushed hard by every move we did, since we moved from body part to body part, I didn’t feel like I had worked that hard … right away.

We finished the class by running up and down the stairs around the skating rink and then had a short cool down. When class was over while some of the other women decided to do the stairs a second time, and since I hate stairs, I announced I would run 1km (4 laps) around the track just to get some mileage in. Halfway through my first lap I felt every bit of the class – of course I had announced that I was going to run 1km so I had to finish. 😉

Well, today my body feels like a bag of bricks. I’m afraid that my body is too exhausted to even hurt and that the hurt’s coming. I think I may have to do this again next week though – I never seem to push myself enough working out at home…

My morning wasn’t totally unproductive though, while browsing the internet I found my new coffee mug:

badmotherrunner

One bad mother runner mug

I really hate burpees. What boot camp exercises do you hate?

Jackie

– Jackie –

16 thoughts on “Boot camp kicked my butt

  1. I don’t think I’ve done enough boot camps to know what I hate – so maybe that makes it clear that I hate strength training overall? 🙂

  2. Great post!! I love to do anything with my arms, but squats and stuff…ugh!! 😉

  3. That’s so funny Jackie….My butt was totally kicked too. That class was super tough. I had a hard time with most things today, like for example getting into and out of a car! But you’re right….I’ve tried some of those moves before at home and don’t have enough willpower to get through them, so it was good to do them in a class. I plan on going next week too!! 🙂

  4. I’ve never really taken a bootcamp class but I know it would be rough for me! I take Pilates and yoga though, I have to go to class as well otherwise my strength training at home is lazy

  5. I feel your pain – bootcamp works out all the muscles we don’t know are there. I don’t mind a burpee but I really don’t like pushups! Mountain climbers are tough but me and the wall sits have become friends 🙂 well I hope so, I tell myself we are friends even when it’s burning.

  6. Same here; I hate burpees!

  7. Way to get it done! And cool mug!

  8. Great job! I know they are good for me but jumping lunges are killer for me. The burn! Ugh!

  9. Not overly fond of burpees (but then who is) and not keen on squat thrusts either!

Leave a Reply

