Getting back to running … slowly

I haven’t been running outside.

toocoldtorun

toosnowytorun tooyuckytorun

I can hardly wait for spring.

I’ve been recovering from hurting my calf muscle back in December, so I’ve done no running outside since January 1st. I had to take several weeks off completely before starting back to short 10 minute runs. My goal of maintaining the level of fitness throughout the winter went out the window. My injury has finally healed and I’ve managed to get up to 21 minutes of running without feeling pain, so I’m feeling pretty good about recovery. What I’m not feeling good about is the 30k Around the Bay Road Race that I have coming up in less than 2 months.

I took some comfort today in a post called “Revisiting my 2014 Goals” on Motivation. She talked about her excitement for the new year of running and how an injury has changed her goals. She listed her original goals and how she has modified them. Although I know that there are tons of people going through this, when all your running friends are training while you are injured,  it’s nice to read a fellow blogger’s experience.

So now my big goals for a personal best at the 30k have taken a backseat to trying to get back in shape enough just to finish the race comfortably. Do you think it can be done? (Seriously)

This weekend I’m going to do a 3o min and see if I can do more than one set of this Kettle Bell workout from the 30 Day Fitness Challenge website. I only got through the whole thing once and I’ve been sore for 2 days.

kettle-bell-workout

I hope your running year has started off better than mine! 🙂

Question: What do you do, besides a treadmill, to keep up your cardio when you can’t run outside?

Jackie

– Jackie –

 

 

8 thoughts on “Getting back to running … slowly

  1. Sorry to hear that you are injured but happy to hear that you are on the road to recovery. Just finishing your 30k race is what I would focus on. If you have to walk and run it that is Ok but you can say you did it.

    When I can’t run outside I go to the gym and do a workout there or I set up by bike on a trainer at home and ride while watching a movie.

    Good luck!

  2. I do rowing as well as dreadmill. Glad you’re getting there, I loved Kyla’s post too!

  3. Get well soon! I would swim or bike at the gym when I can’t run from injury – as long as my legs can at least handle that. Oh, and yoga!

    • I’m embarrassed to say that at my age I can only swim well enough to get myself out of a pool I’ve fallen into. I do think I’m going to get either a bike or rowing machine for my home “gym”. And I’m working on getting regular with Yoga – it’s so good!

  4. If I can’t get out and can’t face the dreadmill then either the bike or the cross trainer at the gym are pretty good options. Swimming sometimes too.

  5. I hope that injury fades away completely very soon! Readjusting goals to fit what’s happening is a very good thing, there is always another time to get that 30km PB, hang in there. I love bootcamp and tabata to compliment running – we don’t have such extremes of weather here so running outside never stops, I’m feeling very lucky and blessed. I hope the weather improves soon too!!! Bring on Spring for you.

  6. I totally hear you on being bummed out when you’re injured and you feel like all you hear about is what other (uninjured) runners are doing. I was injured for the majority of last year and it stunk. Once I changed my mentality, focusing on what I could do instead of what I couldn’t, I felt so much better. And you can’t compare yourself to other people (easier said than done). You can only do what your body is capable at this point in time.

    I have a different/non-running related/impacted injury right now as well that’s driving me crazy (bad tennis elbow), so I completely get it! Us injured people are around if you need any support! Stay strong and good luck on your continued recovery!

Leave a Reply

