RUN LESS RUN FASTER – Book Review and GIVEAWAY

Each month we try and review a book on Running or Health. This month we are reviewing the book Run Less Run Faster from the Experts at FIRST, Bill Pierce, Scott Murr and Ray Moss. Please enter our draw for a chance to win a copy.

 runlessrunfaster

Since I turned 40, I’ve run a couple of half marathons, a 30k race and 2 full marathons. This year, among my races I am planning on doing are a 30k, as well as a couple of halves.  I usually use traditional training schedules to train, but as a “Masters Runner”, personally, I find I get a little worn out doing 5 – 6 runs a week when the weekly mileage gets higher. When I heard about this book, I decided I might want to try this training method for my runs this year.

Run Less Run Faster uses the FIRST (Furman Institute of Running and Scientific Training) 3plus2 training method. You do 3 quality runs per week, consisting of:

  1. Track repeats
  2. Tempo runs
  3. Long runs

Further, you do 2 cross training workouts per week that can include biking, swimming, deep water running or rowing. Each quality run and cross-training workout is clearly explained and the book has detailed, user-friendly schedules, graphs and charts that make training simple.

Setting realistic goals and knowing when to revise and redefine your goals is stressed and the race prediction table can help you figure out what that goal should be. There are also chapters on new runners, the essentials of rest and recovery, year round training and many other topics. I particularly enjoyed the chapter on the importance of flexibility and form.

Each chapter is followed by questions and answers and “real runner reports”. These are testimonials from real runners on how this training method benefited them. The theme of Qualifying for Boston is throughout the book and among the pages and pages of training schedules are training schedules for qualifying for your age category.

I really enjoyed reading this book. In the past I’ve been more likely to use a running book solely as a reference book, but I enjoyed reading this book cover to cover. It is well-written and interesting, detailed without being tedious. I’m looking forward to giving this method a try this year.

Click here to enter our draw for a copy of RUN LESS RUN FASTER.  This giveaway is open worldwide until next Monday.

– Jackie –Jackie

8 thoughts on “RUN LESS RUN FASTER – Book Review and GIVEAWAY

  1. Sounds interesting. I shall enter!

  2. Sounds like a great read!

  3. I’m reading that book right now!! i’m only a few chapters in, but already love it. I think I’m going to use it as my next marathon training plan!

  4. I run 4 days a week when I am training.

  5. I currently run seven days a week (including active rest days), so I’d be interested to hear about the other end of the training spectrum.

  6. Currently I’m training for a 50 miler where I’m doing 5 runs per week maxing out at 70+ miles, I am looking forward to a change in pace. Running is about constant experimentation.

  7. Right now, I’m running 7 days a week as I’m on a running streak for 2014. But a couple of days I only run 1-2 easy miles. So the other 5-6 days, I’m running longer easy runs, speed training or long runs. I’m really enjoying running every day and find it very motivating.

  8. […] to Laura Parsons who won our draw for the Run Less Run Faster book. Thanks to everyone who […]

Leave a Reply

