Goal Setting and a Giveaway

With 2014 only three days away, it’s a natural time to start thinking about our running goals for the new year.  In years past, I’ve always set performance based goals.  I’ve wanted to reach a certain time at a certain race.  But, after reading this article, I’ve realized that my goals have probably been hindering me, rather than helping me improve.

In 2013, I set two goals for my 10k time and my half-marathon time that I didn’t achieve.  I was disappointed with myself, especially because I felt like I was physically capable of reaching them.  Although I did run personal bests in both distances and I was happy about that, it was overshadowed by the missing those time goals.

20130929-DSC_4725-2sm

I had the slow race blues. 🙂

Really, time goals are useless without training goals.  You can say you want to run a 10k in 45 minutes, but without developing a plan to get there, you will never achieve it.  However, if you set training based goals, focusing on the process of increasing your fitness and health, you are are bound to naturally improve your running times.  As a bonus, you will be happy for running your best without the disappointment of not reaching an ambitious time goal.

So, this is what I’m going to do in 2014.  I’m going to forget about reaching a certain time.  I’m going to concentrate on being more consistent in my training, stop neglecting my long runs and hill workouts, and improve my pacing.   I haven’t set my specific goals yet, but they will be based around the process of becoming a stronger runner instead of the end goal.

With this in mind, Jackie and I thought we’d have a giveaway to help you reach your goals in 2014.  We’re giving one Runner’s World 2014 Daily Calendar, which is full of training tips for each day of the year!

CalendarThis giveaway is available to residents of North America and is open until January 1, 2014.

Click here to enter the giveaway!

QUESTION: What is one of your goals for 2014?

-Mandy- DSC_0815_3 2

15 thoughts on “Goal Setting and a Giveaway

  1. I’m going for 1,000 miles in 2014! It’ll be over the course of the entire year and will include several halves and a full marathon!

  2. Thanks for the thought-provoking post. I’m debating over my 2014 goals right now myself, and you helped me take some things into consideration. Perhaps, if you get time, you can check out my blog over the next few days to see what goals I set and tell me what you think. I’ll be watching for yours. 😀

  3. ‘Time goals are useless without training goals’… so so true! I don’t make goals about getting faster because it’s just a bit too scary for me, but I might take this concept and try and apply it. I really hope you nail your goals for 2014, but the good thing with running is that it’s always there for us to keep having a go at getting to where we want to be 🙂 Happy new year ladies x

  4. My goal is to run 10K with no walking breaks. This may be easy for some runners but it will be a challenge for me. Hope you reach your goals in 2014!

  5. My 2014 goals are to stick to my half-marathon training schedule, complete a half marathon, and run 500 miles this year! I’ve been running for two months now and I’m very excited to see where 2014 takes me:)

  6. Very true! You have to do the work to get faster! Except I have one friend who just started running a year ago. He doesn’t train. He parties all night and after an hour of sleep decides to go run a race. He gets faster each time. He wins his age group almost each time. He comes close to winning the whole race most times. It’s very frustrating to watch him! Haha!
    2014, I want to try adding the speed I do at shorter distance to longer races. Start killing my PR’s in those distances.

  7. This is a great post. I hope you do well in 2014. One of my goals is to finish a half marathon.

  8. My goals are to run a thousand miles over the year and to run a sub 1:40:00 half. Wish me luck!

  9. tough call. Between getting faster and running longer, hard to say which I want to focus on more. I think I want to go farther, I can do 10 miles, but I feel like I’m dying at the end. I think I’d like to get up to a half marathon and still feel great at the end (not want to collapse on the nearest bed of leaves!)

  10. Enjoy the posts! Goal for 2014 will be to maintain a regular training schedule so there will be no catching up from winter weather & welcome my 6pack back after 20 yrs. Lol

  11. […] forget to click here to enter our Runners World Daily Calender […]

  12. […] Goal Setting and a Giveaway (outrunningblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

