Week 2 of the 31 Day run through December Challenge – recap

mysmuggsmug

Jackie: I spent the week at Smuggler’s Notch Resort in Vermont so it was a little challenging to get this week of our 31 Day Run Through December Challenge done and I’m being a little creative with my runs.  That’s allowed on holiday right? I’m taking a little comfort in the fact that even though my mileage was low – 15.6km, I got 482m of elevation. Vermont has some big hills!

Recap:

Monday – 2k outside our suite at Smuggler’s Notch resort – 59m of elevation

Tuesday – 3k up Mountain Road – 122m of elevation (pretty impressive elevation for an out and back)

Wednesday – 4.2k hike up Mountain road to Smuggler’s Notch 153m of elevation (I actually did this Tuesday after my run – but I figure a hike like that can be carried over to another day 😉 )

Thursday – 2k up Mountain road – 61m of elevation (all the holiday eating is getting to me at this point)

Friday – 1.4km downhill run (took the shuttle back to our room – in my defense the weather was bad and it was super slippery…)

Saturday – 3k run up Mountain road – 87m of elevation – we were aiming for the top but the -18°C forced us to turn back. I had icy eyelashes I couldn’t see through and my running buddy only wore one pair of running tights and frostbite was a very real concern. Next year we’re running all the way to the top!

Sunday – after a scary 10 hour drive from Vermont home to Southern Ontario, I spent an hour shoveling the driveway. Does that count…because I’m counting it. 🙂

wedidntdiecathyjackie

My friend Cathy and I after our -18°C (about zero F) a surprisingly good picture considering how frozen our faces were.

Monthly total so far: 43.9km

– Jackie – Jackie

Mandy:  I can’t believe that this month is already half over.  This week was full of short, slow runs for me.  The weather in Southern Ontario has been snow, snow, and more snow!  As much as I’ve wanted to take a day off when I’m nesting on the couch, it’s been really nice getting outside to enjoy the weather.  Shoveling is much more enjoyable when you think of it as a cool down to your run!

I didn’t get out for any long runs, because after a few kilometers, my ankles and calves were burning from slipping around in the snow.  Today, I bought myself some spikes to help with traction, so we’ll see if that help me out next week.

photo-12

Recap:

Day 9 – 3.5km

Day 10 – 1.7km

Day 11 – 2km

Day 12 – 4km

Day 13 – 1.9km

Day 14- 5.0km

Day 15 – 2.0km

Weekly total: 20.1km

Total for the month: 15 days / 47km

-Mandy- DSC_0815_3 2

One thought on “Week 2 of the 31 Day run through December Challenge – recap

  1. OMG I can’t believe you’re running in the snow. I’m sitting here just freezing my ass on my couch. lol. Great Job!!

Leave a Reply

