Healthy Garden Salad – Edamame and Black Beans

garden salad

I thought today I’d quickly share a recipe with you all.  It’s just a simple salad, but this recipe has regularly made it into my rotation for dinners, lunches, and potlucks over the past six months.  Follow this link to allrecipes.com for the recipe.

It’s called the Healthy Garden Salad.  The name is very boring.  I think it does a terrible job of describing the salad or enticing you to try it.  It’s kind of like calling a recipe for lasagna, Meat Noodle Casserole.  Yes, it’s an accurate description, but you could be getting anything!

Despite the name, I love this recipe because, even in the winter, it is hearty and filling, without leaving you feeling stuffed.  I stick to the recipe fairly closely.  However, I sometimes subsitute olive oil for the grapeseed oil.  I also add more fresh cilantro than the recipe calls for if I have it.

My favourite way to eat this salad is to pile it onto a bed of baby spinach, and then top it with more goodies.  It tastes amazing topped with dried cranberries, pepitas, real bacon bits, goat cheese, and pecans.  I know that sounds like a lot of extras, but the combination is heavenly.

Have you ever tried this recipe?

-Mandy- DSC_0815_3 2

4 thoughts on “Healthy Garden Salad – Edamame and Black Beans

  1. I’ve tried this salad and really enjoyed it. I topped it with soft goats cheese and walnuts. Yummy!

  2. Marianne Rowland

    Sounds delicious! Will definitely have to give it a try:)
    p.s love the blog btw.

  3. best salad ever. I had to step up spoon sizes so i could shovel it in faster 🙂

Leave a Reply

