Day 1 of the 31 Day Challenge (run every day in December)

Back in November, I challenged myself to a 31 Day Run Through December Challenge. My goal is to make it to January and start training for my spring races in the same condition I ended my last running season – without losing the progress I’ve made. So far, I’ve already benefited from setting the goal. Usually in November I don’t run at all, but this time I managed to get 86km logged. Instead of hiding from the cold in December, my plan this time is to go to the other extreme. I’m running every day of the month. Usually 5, 8, and 10k runs, but on bad weather or tired days, the minimum distance being 1 mile (1.6k).

Well, December kind of snuck up on me. On Sunday morning (December 1st), I found myself out of town without my running gear. We got home around dinner time when it was already dark and I had company coming shortly after. So, with only 10 minutes to spare, I threw on my running clothes, snagged my little running buddy (my middle 12year old son – along with his “head light”) and we went out for a quick 1 mile run. Our dark run – lit with the headlight – was really fun and we finished with an unexpected (for me) 200m sprint to our house. Of course I lost. We reached our driveway just in time to meet the first of our company (and for me to overhear him say to his little daughter, “They’re running – some crazy people do that for fun”).

nightrunwithJason

Day 1 of the challenge – 1.6km logged.

– Jackie –  Jackie

*Good news – Mandy is joining me in my challenge! Mandy, how was your first day?

November was kind of a bust for me.  I didn’t get nearly as much running in as I had hoped. I had a hard time adjusting to the colder, shorter days, had a few very busy weeks, and had a week where I wasn’t feeling very good.  But enough with the excuses! I can’t let Jackie have all the fun in December, so I’m joining her in the 31 Day Running Challenge.  It’s going to be tough to keep up a month long running streak, but if I can do it, it will be a great accomplishment.

Yesterday was a nice, mild day.  I got out for a 5km run around my neighborhood.  I could really feel my November laziness, as it was a struggle.  I tried to pick up my speed for the last km, and when I got through the front door, my husband asked if I was okay because I was breathing so heavily.  Oh well!  By the end of December, I should be in better shape!

As my own personal goal, I’ve added an addition to the challenge.  I’m going to go Garmin-free this month.  Actually, that’s not completely true.  I’m going to wear my watch, but I’ll keep it under my jacket or in my pocket, so that I can’t look at it while running.  I’ve mentioned before that I have a bit of a gps addiction.  I look at my watch too much.  Sometimes it’s helpful, but more often than not, it psychs me out.  This month, I’d like to work on pacing without the help of my watch.  I might experiment with even pacing, negative splits, and some interval runs.  We’ll see what happens!

Day 1 of the challenge – 5km logged

-Mandy- Mandy

We’ll be back every Monday this month with an update on how the challenge is going.

Let us know…

What are your goals for December? What is your longest running streak?

4 thoughts on “Day 1 of the 31 Day Challenge (run every day in December)

  1. Good luck with your challenge! It sounds like you are off to an amazing start. My current longest streak is 12 days, which would be where I am now. 🙂

  2. I decided to try this challenge as well. Even though I missed on only the second day! 😦 I plan on getting through the rest of the month with some shorter runs. Thanks for the encouragement ladies!

Leave a Reply

