Weekend In Ottawa

This weekend my husband, Alex, and I traveled to Ottawa to attend a good friend’s wedding.  After a week of snowy, cold weather, it was a gorgeous weekend.  Perfect for a wedding and a run.

Wedding

We stayed at the Indigo Hotel downtown, just steps from the Rideau Canal, so we wanted to take advantage of the location to get out and see the city by foot. Ottawa is beautiful.  The downtown area has the feel of a big city, but is relatively small and walkable.

On Friday, after driving five hours or so, we did some shopping and checked out Byward Market.  We had delicious wood oven pizza at the Grand Pizzeria and then walked along Parliament Hill.  On the way back to our hotel, we stopped in at a local cafe called Bridgehead.  Their Chai Mocha Latte was so yummy!

Byward Market

IMG_20131115_210021
On Saturday morning, I was going to head out for a morning run, but was tempted by the hotel gym.  It was one of the nicest hotel gyms I’ve seen.  I don’t get the opportunity to run on a treadmill often, so although it was warm and sunny outside, I just felt like staying inside!  I decided to run a quick 5k with hill intervals on the treadmill before I got ready for the wedding.  I really enjoyed running on the treadmill.  It makes sticking to an even pace really easy, and I find that I push myself a little harder.  I wouldn’t want to do it all the time, but sometimes it is a nice treat!

Gym
There was a Poutinefest not far from our hotel.  Alex brought me pulled pork poutine back to our hotel for lunch while I got ready for the wedding.  (Well deserved for running while on vacation, I think)  It was a beautiful wedding, and we had a lot of fun with friends and family, some who we don’t get to see very often. including my sister and her husband, who live in Iqaluit, NU.

On Sunday morning, my sister, Sarah, and I woke up early to go for a run along the Rideau Canal.  I usually run alone, so the company was wonderful!  We went for a slow 5k run (maybe I should call it a jog).   We chatted, saw a bit of the city, and stopped to take pictures along the way.  Sarah hikes and exercises often, but she doesn’t run.  I think she found it a little hard on her muscles, but she did great!

photo-8
The wide path along the canal is used for biking and running.  We were passed by many fellow runners on Sunday morning.   Although we kept it short, if you wanted a longer route, you could continue down the trail to Dow’s Lake.  Next time I am back in Ottawa, I am going to make that my goal.

photo-11

photo-10

After our run, we went out for a delicious breakfast, and spent the rest of the day relaxing with family.  It was a great weekend!

-Mandy

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

