Bowflex Treadclimber

My plans for a quick run on Wednesday night were cancelled because of a cold, heavy rain.  I didn’t want to miss my workout so I headed over to my parent’s house to use their Bowflex Treadclimber.
Behold the Treadclimber!

Treadclimber

It’s a treadmill! It’s a stair climber! It’s an elliptical!

I always giggle when I think of my parents buying this machine.  They must have watched so many late night infomercials before deciding it was worth the expensive price tag.  But, I’m happy they bought it, because it helps both my mom and dad keep active.  It even helped my dad loose over twenty pounds this summer.
I’ve only tried this a handful of times, but I really do like it. Sometimes home aerobic machines feel cheap, but this is a very solid machine.  They’ve had it for a couple of years, and it’s still going strong.  But, more importantly, it’s a good workout.  By the end of thirty minutes, I was dripping sweat and my calves were burning.  The combination of stepping and walking feels like the same effort as walking up a big hill.
I tried running on the machine, but after thirty seconds or so, my heart rate was through the roof and I had to slow down.  It also felt incredibly awkward, as your body is sort of leaning forward.  Later, I read on their website that
“the TreadClimber is not designed for running. It is designed to provide an extremely effective workout while walking.”
So if you are looking for a machine to use for running when the weather outside is bad, this isn’t for you. However, if you like to walk, this provides a really good workout!
On another note, I watched Extreme Couponing for the first time during this workout.  It…was…awful. 🙂
Leave a Reply

