Hindering Hibernation

The end of October is a strange time to start a running blog.  The days are getting shorter, winter is coming, and the racing season has come to an end. The urge to hibernate on the couch for the next six months keeps getting stronger.

On the other hand, it’s a perfect time to reflect on the past year and to get motivated for what’s coming next.  Mixed in with the bad weather, there are so many perfect running days where the air is crisp, the sun is warm, and the leaves are gleaming.  If you can get the motivation to get out there, the rewards are worth it.

These are my tips that are helping me to keep going:

1. Join a social running site such as www.strava.com. Encourage your friends to join too! Seeing their awesome runs will encourage you to get out. (And shame you when you don’t!)
img-strava-run-icon-0a5a84fe81127291aa83b2e018dfa974

2. Sign up for an online running challenge. When you don’t have a race to train for, these can give you a goal to focus on.  Strava has regular mileage, elevation, and time challenges. 

Today is the last day of the HOKA ONE ONE Demand More Vertical Challenge.  For the last 10 day, instead of thinking about my pace or mileage, I’ve been distracted by finding the biggest hills in my neighborhood, and have found some new favourite routes and trails.  Instead of avoiding hills, we were looking for them online.  On Sunday morning,  Jackie and I were rewarded with this beautiful scenery, along with a beastly, muddy hill.

photo-2

3. Get some new gear. If you buy something new, you’ll want to use it! In fact, I feel guilty if I don’t. It doesn’t have to be big…new socks, hat, or gloves…just something that makes running a little more enjoyable.  My new Saucony running socks makes me smile every time I look at my feet!

photo-3

4. Plan out each week. I don’t like to run in the dark.  It just feels cold, lonely and scary to me.  If I walk in my front door after work, I know that I’m not going to leave again until the sun comes up.  So, I try to plan out my week ahead of time. I take advantage of the times when I can run during the day.  When I can’t, I bring my duffel bag to work, and get it over with before I head home.

5. Reflect on what you’ve accomplished during the last few months, and think about what races you want to do in the spring.  Set your goals now, so you are motivated to keep up your fitness until training begins again.  It’s also a good time to try some different forms of exercise, like a boot camp class or strength training.

-Mandy

5 thoughts on “Hindering Hibernation

  1. re: item 3. Do you feel guilty for not buying something 🙂 or not using what you bought?

    • jackieoutrunning

      Ha! I seldom give myself a chance to feel guilty for NOT buying something ;). If you buy it and you use it, I don’t think you should feel guilty – it was a good investment.

  2. […] this year I want it to be different. After reading my fellow Outrunning blogger Mandy’s “Hindering Hibernation” post I decided what to do. Mandy had some great suggestions: 1. Join a social running site such […]

  3. My daughter and I bought a couple of headlamps so we can get out in the dark a little more often! It’s really dark where we live. But we want to take more advantage of these long winter evenings.

Leave a Reply

