Mandy’s Broccoli Kale-slaw

Up close

I love salads!  Not just any salads. I love hearty, “everything but the kitchen sink” salads.  This one is guilty of consisting of the leftover veggies from my fridge and everything I was craving tonight.  Because it is more of a coleslaw than a salad, it will make perfect leftovers for lunch this week.  Bonus: Eating kale has been known to guarantee PRs.  After all, it is a superfood.

Ingredients

Salad:

1/2 pkg Broccoli Slaw

1/2 head of kale, chopped into tiny pieces (stalks removed)

1 stalk of celery, chopped into slivers

1/2 red pepper, julienned

2 stalks of green onion, diced

1/2 pkg of shelled edamame, cooked and cooled

Ingredients

Dressing:

3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1/4 apple cider vinegar

2 tsp mustard

2 tsp white sugar

1/2 tsp cumin

pepper to taste

Toppings: (optional)

Craisons

Pumpkin seeds

Raw sliced almonds

Steps

1. Mix together all the salad ingredients in a large bowl.  (This makes a lot.  Use a BIG bowl!)

2. Mix together dressing ingredients.  (This also makes a lot of dressing.  You may not want to use all the dressing.  Mix it in gradually.)  You can refrigerate the salad for a bit to bring on the flavors, but it’s not necessary.

3.  Serve it with the toppings.  Yum!

Brocolli Kaleslaw

One thought on “Mandy’s Broccoli Kale-slaw

  1. Yum! Nice to meet someone who likes salad as much as I do. People usually give me a very quizzical look when I say that salad is my favourite food! This one looks super good. I will give it a try at one of the countless potluck parties that I have to go to this month! At least I know there will be one healthy dish for me to eat!

Leave a Reply

