Curried Chicken Salad Sandwich

I’ve been MIA from the blog the last month or so, and I deserted Jackie to look after things.  Sorry, Jackie! January wasn’t a good month for me.  I’m not usually a complainer when it comes to the weather, but this winter has been really tough.  The weather, combined with being sick and tired, left me with no motivation to run or to blog about it.

But, we are having a few “warm” days this week where the temperatures are just around freezing.  Today the sun was shining and it even felt like spring.  So, I’m hoping that I get some motivation back and some ambition to write.

Back in December, Jackie lent me the Runner’s World Cookbook.  I made a list of recipes I wanted to try, but never got around to it.  Finally, tonight for supper, I tried the recipe for Curried Chicken Salad Sandwiches.  I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was!

IMG_20140219_164933~2

This recipe is super quick to make, especially if you have leftover cooked chicken breast hanging out in the fridge.  It took me less than 10 minutes to throw it together.  It made dinner for two, with enough extra for one or two lunches.   The only changes I made to the recipe were to omit the dried cranberries (my husband doesn’t like them) and to toast the bread.

IMG_20140219_185217

This recipe contains lots of great nutrients for runners, and the book labels it as a recovery meal.  I guess I better get out running to reap the benefits!

-Mandy- DSC_0815_3 2

11 thoughts on “Curried Chicken Salad Sandwich

  1. That sounds really good right about now!

  2. Oh, THAT’s where my book is … 😉

  3. Yum! I got this book for Christmas. I should try out a couple new recipes this weekend.

  4. I’m going to try it out this weekend. Sounds so yummy!

  5. Would you recommend buying it?

    • I think we’ll do a review on the cookbook once we’ve tried a few more recipes. It’s a beautiful, well-organized book, and a lot of the recipes look great. However, I’m pretty sure all of the recipes are from past magazines and you can find them online. I tend to look for recipes online instead of reaching for a book, but if you prefer a cookbook, I’d recommend it.

      • I just bought a Real Simple cookbook and feel the same way. Sometimes cookbooks are advertised as “healthy” or “for runners” and I end up feeling like I could have saved twenty five bucks with Pinterest and a printer. Excellent layout design will coerce me to purchase, and then I’ll regret it later. I look forward to your review.

  6. I’m a big fan of gourmet anything, and anything beats boring chicken salad, you know, just chicken and mayo, maybe onion. So… this is great! Thanks for the recipe. (fortunately I’m married to a gourmet cook who will try anything. I’m spoiled.)

Leave a comment